Tigers’ squad for Test series against Zimbabwe announced


Sports Desk:

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday announced a 15-member final squad for the two-match Test series against Zimbabwe beginning on November 3 at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, including four new faces in the team.

All-rounder Mahmudullah Riyad will captain the Bangladesh team in the series in absence of injury-grabbed regular captain Shakib Al Hasan.

National chief selector Minhazul Abedin Nannu announced the team here in the afternoon.

The 2nd test of the two-match series will be held at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on November 11-15.

Pacer Khaled Ahmed of Sylhet Division was included as a fresh face while three other players — Mohammad Mithun, Ariful Haque and Nazmul Islam Apu who played for Bangladesh in the ODI and T20 format, were called for the Test team.

Another pacer Shafiul Islam also returned to the Test side after playing last Test against South Africa last year.

Rubel Hossain and Soumya Sarker were not considered for the Test team while Test specialist Taijul Islam and Mominul Haque found their place the squad as expected.

Test Squad: Mahmudullah (Captain), Imrul Kayes, Liton Kumar Das, Mominul Haque, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Khaled Ahmed and Nazmul Islam Apu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here