Rating Chess: Mihir Lal Das emerges champion


Sports Desk :

Mihir Lal Das of Sultana Kamal Smriti Pathagar emerged champion in the Esoft Arena FIDE Rating (below 2000) Chess Tournament securing eight points after the 9th and final round matches at the Bangladesh Chess Federation Hall room on Thursday.

Dewan Shahidul Amin of Sonali Bank Sports and Recreation Club became the runner-up.

On completion of the 9th and last round matches, both Mihir and Shahidul earned 8 points, but in the tie-breaking system, Mihir clinched the title while Shahidul became the runner-up.

M Jamal Uddin of Leonine Chess Club became 3rd with 7.5 points. Jabed Al Azad of Crescent Club finished 4th while SK Rashedul Hasan of Access Chess Club became 5th collecting 7 points each.

Besides, eight players received prizes in different categories. They are: Reasat-e-Noor (Rating 1800 to 1899 Category), Swarnavo Choudhury (Rating 1700 to 1799 category), Mohammad Salman Munshi (Rating 1600 to 1699 category), Rashel Hassan (Rating 1500 to 1599 category), Tahmidul Haque (Rating 1000 to 1499 category), Best Unrated- M Gazi Salah Uddin, Best Under-16 Sadnan Hasan Dihan and Best Girl Under-16 Jannatul Ferdous.

In the day’s 9th and final round matches, Mihir beat Jamal, Shahidul beat Feroz, Jabed beat Swarnavo, Rashed beat Ataur, Ejaz beat Shohel Rana, Nayem beat Yasir Ali Khan Evan, Shirin beat Sadnan, Rezaul beat M Arafat Rahman, Abdullah Al Raison beat Mostafa Razibul Hasan, M Zakaria beat A B Bappi, Reasat beat Abijit Barua, Mukitul Islam Ripon beat Kazi Fujayel Hasan, Salman beat Md Zaber Al Hamid, Shahriar Md Salehin beat M Ariful Amin and Kazi Mahbub Afzal beat Noshin Anjum.

The prize distribution ceremony of the meet was held after the competition. Mokaddesur Rahman Khan Sohan CEO of Esoft Arena, International Arbiter M Haroon Or Rashid and National Arbiter M Anisuzzaman Jewel distributed prizes among the winners.

A total of 134 players took part in the 9 round Swiss-League system atches.unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here