UP polls in former enclaves underway


Rbd Desk :

The election of 22 union parishads (UPs) began on Monday morning in the areas which were previously Indian enclaves.

According to EC statistics, a total of 8,935 voters from ex-enclaves will exercise their franchise in the UP elections in Panchagarh, while some 1,700 voters in eight UPs in Lalmonirhat and 3,098 in six UPs in Kurigram.

In 100 of the 111 exchanged ex-enclaves situated in three northern districts – Panchagarh, Lalmonirhat and Kurigram – nearly 14,000 voters are applying their voting rights in the UP election, said officials at the Election Commission (EC) Secretariat.

Eight of the 22 UPs are in Panchagarh, eight in Lalmonirhat and six in Kurigram.

The voting began at 8am and will continue till 4pm.

The 111 ex-Indian enclaves inside Bangladesh, which were merged with the mainland of Bangladesh in July 31, 2015 following the ratification of land boundary agreement (LBA) by Indian Loka Sabha and Rajya Sabha unanimously, include 12 in Kurigram, 59 in Lalmonirhat, four in Nilphamari and 36 in Panchagarh.

On September 26 last, the election schedules were announced for the UPs after making the eligible inhabitants of ex-enclaves voters this year.

Under the agreement, India exchanged 111 enclaves measuring 17,160 acres to Bangladesh and received 51 enclaves covering 7,110 acres, which all were located inside Cooch Behar, ending the decade-old sufferings of the people living in enclaves on both sides of Bangladesh and India.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here