Oikyafront team walks out of EC meeting


Staff Reporter:

Jatiya Oikyafront leaders, led by Dr Kamal Hossain, on Tuesday walked out of a meeting with the Election Commission (EC) as they found the Commission’s attitude ‘biased and impolite’ one.

“We walked out of the meeting. It seems to us the Election Commission’s attitude was biased and indecorous,” BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir told reporters while emerging from the meeting with Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda and other commissioners around 1:50pm.

Fakhrul also alleged that the government together with the Election Commission is trying to turn the election into a farce.

“We came here with the banner of Oikyafront today to inform Election Commission about the attacks and arrests of opposition leaders,” he said adding, “We informed the EC about the attacks and arrest of our leaders several times. But we didn’t get any response from them.”

Fakhrul said voters are now afraid whether they would be able to cast their votes.  “How will the voters go to cast their votes if this situation remains unchanged?” he asked.

The BNP leader claimed that there is no minimum environment for election. “The government and the Election Commission are jointly trying to spoil the election,” he said.

Replying to a question about Oikyafront’s latest decision, Fakhrul Islam said people will take the decision. “But we won’t let them score any goal in an empty field,” he said.

Replying to another question about army deployment, another Oikyafront leader Nazrul Islam Khan said, “We sought army in the field of election. But the EC didn’t let army to go in the field as they (army) are working under the EC.”

The Election Commission is trying to destroy the army’s image, Nazrul Islam claimed.

Earlier, a 10-member Oikyafront delegation, led by its chief Dr Kamal Hossain, sat in a meeting with the Commission at Nirbachan Bhaban in the city around 12 noon.

The other members include BNP General Secretary Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, senior BNP leaders Mirza Abbas, Abdul Moyeen Khan, Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Mostofa Mohsin Montu, Subrata Chowdhury and Nazrul Islam Khan.

Election Commissioners Mahbub Talukder and Rafiqul Islam and EC Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed were also present at the meeting.unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here