No letter yet from Fakhrul, says Speaker about his oath taking


Staff Reporter:

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on Tuesday said she is yet to receive any letter from MP-elect BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam seeking time extension for taking oath.

She, however, said his letter would be accepted had reached the Parliament Secretariat by April 29 (Monday), the last date for taking oath.

The Speaker made the remarks while talking to reporters at her Parliament’s office.

“But, steps will be taken over his constituency as per the Constitution if Fakhrul Islam failed to send any letter by April 29, “ Dr Shirin said.

According to Article 67 of the Constitution, a Member of Parliament shall vacate his seat if he or she fails to take oath or affirm to do so within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of Parliament after his election.

“Provided that the Speaker may, before the expiration of that period, for good cause extend it,” said the same Article of the Constitution

The 11th parliament formed through the December-30 general election went into its maiden session on January 30, 2019.

Earlier in the day, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir told a programme in the city that he is not going to take oath as an MP as part of their party’s strategy.

“Some TV channels and newspapers are running news that I’ve sought time (from Speaker) for taking oath which is a blatant lie. I’ve neither sent any letter nor sought any time,” Fakhrul said.

In the last general election, the BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront secured eight seats out of 300. Of those, BNP got six, while its ally Gonoforum bagged two.

Among them, all the Jatiya Oikyafront MPs-elect except Mirza Fakhrul Islam took oath as MPs within the stipulated time.  unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here