Bus services from 11 northern dists via Bogra suspended


Staff Reporter:

Transport owners of 11 northern districts have suspended bus services with capital city Dhaka via Bogra over an internal conflict with workers.

The 11 districts are Rangpur, Kurigram, Gaibandha, Thakurgaon, Dinajpur, Nilphamari, Panchagarh, Lalmonirhat, Naogaon, Joypurhat and Bogra.

Aminul Islam, joint-convener of Bogra District Motor Owners Association, said the transport workers of Noagaon district obstructed movement of at least 15 buses here to Dhaka for five days.

Following the incident, Rajshahi Divisional Transport Owners-Workers Oikya Parishad held a meeting with the workers at a city restaurant on Monday.

However, the owners shut down all companies’ bus counters at Rajshahi since Tuesday evening.

Hundreds of Dhaka-bound passengers of those districts have been suffering much following the strike, locals said.

Earlier, the workers also shut down the northern districts-bound bus counters in Dhaka.

However, the buses from Rajshahi, Chapainawabganj, Natore, Pabna, and Sirajganj are plying on the roads leading to Dhaka as per schedule.unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here