Bogura-6 by-election Monday


Staff Reporter:

The by-election to Bogura-6 constituency will be held on Monday.

Voting will begin at 9am and continue till 5pm without any break.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has completed all the preparations to smoothly hold the by-polls using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the December 30 general election, did not take oath as MP within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.

Golam Mohammad Siraj of BNP, T Zaman Niketa of Awami League, Nurul Islam Omar of Jatiya Party, Dr Mansur Rahman of Bangladesh Congress, Mufti Rafiqul Islam of Muslim League and independent candidate Md Minhaz Mondal are there in the election race.

Besides, another independent candidate Syed Kabir Ahmed Mithu quit the election race after the expiry of the deadline.

There are 387,458 voters — 191,668 males and 195,790 females – in the constituency.

Returning officer Mahbub Alam Shah handed over the election materials to the presiding officers on Sunday morning at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in the district town.

The EC has identified 111 out of total 141 polling centres as important.

Five policemen and 12 Ansar members will remain deployed in every important polling centre while four policemen and 12 Ansar members at a normal centre.

Besides, 12 platoons of Border Guard Bangladesh, 12 teams of Rapid Action Battalion (Rab) and 12 executive magistrates will be there in the field apart from 12 teams of striking forces to ensure security.

US Ambassador to Bangladesh Earl R Miller expressed the expectation that there will be a good election in Bogura-6 constituency.

He came up with the expectation while talking to reporters after a meeting with Deputy Commissioner Foyez Ahmed in the afternoon.

The US envoy made a stopover in the district on his way to Rangpur to witness a six-day combined exercise titled “Exercise Pacific Angel-2019-1” jointly organised by Bangladesh Air Force (BAF) and US Pacific Air Force that began in Lalmonirhat on Sunday. unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here