BNP picks 28 candidates for 15 constituencies in Barishal


Desk Report:

BNP has picked 28 candidates against 15 constituencies in Barishal division to contest the 11th parliamentary election slated to be held on December 30.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam began handing out the party’s nomination to chosen candidates this afternoon at its Gulshan office.

Here is the list of the candidates:

Barishal Division Names of the nominees
Barguna-1 Matiur Rahman Talukder/ Nazrul Islam Molla
Barguna-2 Nurul Islam Moni
Patuakhali-1 Air Vice Marshal (retd) Altaf Hossain Chowdhury
Patuakhali-2 Suraiya Akhter Chowdhury/ Shahidul AlamTalukder/Salma Alam
Patuakhali-3 Md Hasan Mahmud/ Md Shahjahan
Patuakhali-4 ABM Mosharraf Hossain/ Moniruzzaman Moni
Barishal-1  Zahiruddin Swapan/ Abdus Sobhan
Barishal-2 Moazzem Hossain Alal/Sharfuddin Swapan/Shahidul Hoque Jamal
Barishal-3 Ad Joynal Abedin/Selima Rahman
Barishal-4 Mejbauddin Farhad/Rajib Ahsan
Barishal-5 Mujibur Rahman Sarwar
Barishal-6 Abul Hossain Khan
Jhalakathi-1 Barrister Shahjahan Omar
Jhalakathi-2 Rafiqul Islam Jamal/Israt Jahan Elen Bhutto/Jeba Alam Khan
Pirojpur-3 Ruhul Amin Dulal


Earlier this noon, the party started distribution of nomination letters at its Gulshan office with BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia, who will contest for Bogura-6 and Bogura-7 constituencies in the upcoming general election.


Yesterday, Awami League handed out nomination letters to 248 aspirants picking around 50 new faces to run for the upcoming parliamentary polls and dropping 38 MPs.

The party said it has kept some 70 seats for allies including Jatiya Party, the main opposition in the current parliament. The final decision may come today.


Election Commission has revised polls schedule, deferring the 11th general election by a week to December 30 – a decision taken on November 12.

The authorities have fixed November 28 as the deadline for filing nomination papers, December 2 for scrutiny and December 9 last date of withdrawal.

The move came following demands from several opposition political parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here