Bangladesh, Windies T20I series kicks off Wednesday


Sports Desk:

Bangladesh will play the first T20I of a three-match series against host West Indies at Warner Park, Basseterre in St Kitts on Wednesday.

The match will begin at 6:30 am [Bangladesh time].

This will be the first-ever three-match T20I series between Bangladesh and West Indies.

After a successful campaign for a 2-1 win in the three-match ODIs with six wickets including 2/35 in the first game in the Caribbean, pace bowler Mustafizur Rahman will stay in the Bangladesh squad for T20I series.

Abul Hasan, who had replaced the left-arm fast bowler for the series against Afghanistan in June, has been left out.

Hasan was Mustafizur’s replacement after the cutter master missed the Afghan series in India because of a toe injury he sustained during the IPL.

The current tour is over for ODI skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza as he retired from T20Is last year. Anamul Haque and Nazmul Hossain were two other finished their tour of West Indies. Anamul made just 33 runs in the three ODIs and Nazmul didn’t feature in either a single international on tour.

The 2nd and 3rd T20Is will be held at Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill, in Florida on August 4 and 5.

Bangladesh made a fine turnaround in the ODIs on their West Indies tour after the disastrous 0-2 Test series loss against the host side.

Among their previous six T20I meetings, Bangladesh got two wins against three losses while one match had seen no results, since their first meeting in September 2007.

Bangladesh’s T20I squad: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed and Ariful Haque.unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here