Bangladesh book their place in ICC women’s showcase


Sports Desk:

The Bangladesh women’s cricket team earned the right to play the ICC’s biggest platform for women yet, the 10-nation ICC Women’s World T20 finals later this year, beating Scotland by 49 runs in the 2nd semifinal of the Qualifiers at the VRA Cricket Ground in Amstelveen, Netherlands on Thursday.

With their place ensured, Bangladesh’s rising team will also play the final of the qualifying tournament on July 14 against Ireland, who also booked a seat for the World T20 finals beating Papua New Guinea by 27 runs in the day’s 1st semifinal.

Replying to Bangladesh’s moderate total of 125 for 6 in 20 overs, Scotland never really got going in the face of pressure from Bangladeshi bowlers, and were restricted to 76 for 7 in 20 overs.  The only notable partnership of 43 runs in the 2nd wicket stand by the Bryce sisters,  Sarah (31) and captain Kathryn (21).

Rumana Ahmed and Nahida Akter grabbed two wickets each conceding 10 and 16 runs respectively while captain Salma Khatun and Fahima Khatun chipped in with one each, giving away 17 and 19 runs respectively.

Scots skipper Kathryn Bryce won the toss and asked Bangladesh to bat first.

Openers Shamima Sultana and Ayasha Rahman made the best of the invitation, posting a very good partnership of 51 runs in 6.5 overs in the opening stand. Shamima set the pace with a 16-ball 22 hitting three boundaries, while Ayasha held the ship steady with 20 (27 balls, 1 x 4).

After one-down Fargana Haque was sent back cheaply, number four Nigar Sultana contributed the team highest 31 runs off 36 balls, guiding the team through till the end remaining not out.

She was ably supported by Sanjita Islam scored 18-ball 19 runs including one four while Fahima Khatun made 16-ball 15, also with a boundary.

PA Chatterjee grabbed two wickets for 17 runs for the Scots.

Bangladesh thus ensured the second and last spot in the 10-nation ICC Women’s World T20, scheduled to be held in West Indies November 9-25 this year.

Defending champions the Windies are in Group A along with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Qualifier 1 from the Netherlands event, while Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Qualifier 2 will be in Group B.

The qualifying spots will be decided by the result of the final on Saturday. Bangladesh are coming off a tour of Ireland prior to the qualifiers where they beat the Irish women 2-1 in a 3-match T20 series.

Bangladesh playing XI: Shamima Sultana , Ayasha Rahman, Fargana Hoque, Nigar Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Fahima Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Nahida Akter, Sanjida Islam, Salma Khatun (captain) and Panna Ghosh.

Scotland playing XI: Sarah Bryce, Lorna Jack, Rachel Scholes, Kathryn Bryce (captain), Becky Glen, Priyanaz Chatterji, Katie McGill, Ruth Willis, Abbi Aitken, Laura Grant and AM Maqsood.  unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here