Balloting on to elect JCD president, secretary


Staff Reporter:

Amid court injunction on holding its council, Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD), the student body of BNP, is holding the voting to elect its president and general secretary.

The voting began at the house of BNP standing committee member Mirza Abbas around 8:40pm.

Several hundred councillors of JCD, from its 117 units across the country, gathered there to elect their new president and general secretary through direct voting.

Talking to UNB, JCD election steering committee convener Khairul Kabir Khokon said they have started the balloting to elect the president and general secretary of BNP’s student body through a democratic process overcoming various obstacles.

He said the voting will continue without any break. “We’ll try to announce the results as early as possible after counting votes.”

Khokon said nine candidates are vying for the post of JCD president while 19 for that of general secretary.

Earlier in the afternoon, the JCD councillors had a meeting with their organisational guardian Tarique through Skype at BNP’s Nayapaltan central office where they decided to hold the voting.

The candidates for the JCD president posts are M Fazlur Rahman Khokon, Hafizur Rahman, Mamun Billah, SM Sajid Hasan Babu, Mahmudul Hasan Bappi, Riyadh M Tanbvir Reza Ruble, M Ershad Khan, Mahmud Alam Sarder and Kazi Rawnaqul Islam Shrabon.

The 19 candidates for the BNP student body’s general secretary post include M Shah Newaj, Aminur Rahman Amin, Jakirul Islam Jakir, M Hasan (Tanjil Hasan), M Karimul Hye (Nayeem), Mazedul Islam Rumon, Dalia Rahman, M, Sheikh Abu Taher, Sadiqur Rahman, KM Sakhawat Hossain, Sirajul Islam, M Iqbal Hossain Shaymol, Jewel Hawlader (Saif Mahmud Jewel), Munshi Anisur Rahman, M Mizanur Rahman Sharif, Sheikh Mohammad Moshiur Rahman Roni, Mostafizur Rahman, Sohel Rana and Kazi Mazharul Islam.

After a long hiatus of 27 years, the JCD is holding direct voting to elect its leadership.

Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and M Ilias Ali were elected president and general secretary respectively of JCD through direct voting for the last time in 1992.

JCD’s council was scheduled to be held on Sept 14, but a Dhaka court issued an ad interim injunction on it on September 12.

The court passed the order as JCD’s former assistant religious affairs secretary Md Aman Ullah Aman filed a case seeking a permanent injunction on the council.

On Tuesday, the councillors of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal made BNP Acting Chairman Tarique Rahman the organisational guardian of the student body in absence of Khaleda Zia.

The decision was taken at a meeting of JCD councillors of its council 2019.

As the organisational guardian, Tarique was given the authority to amend the JCD charter, convene and adjourn council, conduct election to select leadership and take any political and organisational decision for the student body’s overhauling and its proper functioning.

JCD’s last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary, and it was dissolved on June 3 last.unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here