AL finalises candidates keeping aside 60 seats for alliance partners


Staff Reporter:Awami League on Friday finalised its candidates for 240 constituencies keeping aside 60 seats for its alliance partners for contesting the 11th parliamentary elections.

AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader came up with the disclosure at a press briefing at the party chief’s Dhanmondi political office.

Jatiya Party (Ershad) will get 40-42 seats, he told reporters.

The ruling party kept three constituencies for Juktofront, three for Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) faction led by Hasanul Haq Inu, five for Bangladesh Workers Party, three for Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh (BDB), two for Tarikat Federation, one for Ambia-led JSD and two for Jatiya Party (Manju).

“If the alliance partners want to contest the election with their electoral symbols, they can do so,” Quader said.

The ruling party also declared its single candidates for 17 constituencies where it gave nominations to more than one candidate earlier.

Of them, Awami League former General Secretary Syed Ashraful Islam was finalised for Kishoreganj-1 constituency while Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury for Rangpur-6, AKM Shahjahan for Laxmipur-3, Nizam Uddin Jalil for Naogaon-5, BM Kabirul Haque for Narail-1, Dhrendra Devnath Shamvu for Barguna-1, Abul Kalam Azad for Jamalpur-1, Shahidul Islam Bakul for Natore-1, Md Mozaffar Hossain for Jamalpur-5, Habibur Rahman Mollah for Dhaka-5, Haji Mohammad Salim for Dhaka-7, Akbar Hossain Pathan (Faruk) for Dhaka-17, Nurul Amin for Chandpur-2 and Chhoto Monir for Tangail-2. unb


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here